Emory Swimming & Diving Gears Up for 31st Annual UAA Championships

Emory Swimming & Diving Gears Up for 31st Annual UAA Championships


Emory University plays host for the 31st Annual University Athletic Association Swimming and Diving Championships. The four day championship meet kicks off on Wednesday, February 14th and runs through Saturday, February 17th and will be held at the Madeleine Jude Brown Aquatic Center inside the Woodruff Physical Education Center.

Meet Coverage

Fans unable to make the trip to Atlanta this week can still follow the action each day by using the links provided above. Emory Athletics will be offering a live video stream of the competition free of charge as well as live updating results. Please see the championship website for more information such as directions to the WoodPEC, ticket information, heat and psych sheets, parking details and more.

2018 Meet Outlook

The 2018 UAA Championships is set to be another highly competitive meet, featuring some of the premier swimming and diving programs among the Division III ranks. On the men’s side, the conference occupies four of the top-eight spots in the latest CSCAA top-25 national poll with Emory leading the charge at No.-3 with 254 points. Washington-St. Louis comes in sixth with 208 points followed by NYU (7th, 199) and Chicago (8th, 195). Carnegie Mellon is ranked 12th with 163 points with Case Western Reserve also inside the top-20 at the 17th position with 89 points.

In the women’s poll, the Eagles are situated second behind top-ranked Kenyon, coming in with 259 points. NYU (8th, 187), Carnegie Mellon (9th, 185) and Chicago (10th, 184) round out the UAA programs inside the top-10 with WashU just outside in 11th place with 181 points. The Case Western Reserve women makes six teams from the Association ranked in the latest poll, earning 42 points for the No.-23 ranking.

Decades of Dominance

For almost two decades, the Emory University Swimming and Diving programs have reigned supreme at the UAA Championships as the Eagles, both men and women, are in search of their 20th straight UAA title later this week. A win at the event will also mark the 26th overall championship for the Emory women and 20th for the men.

2017 Championship Meet Recap

With the 2017 version of the UAA Championships held in Chicago, Illinois, the Emory women secured their 19th consecutive conference title with 1,924.5 points, more than 450 points ahead of second-place NYU (1,468.5). The Eagles won 17 of the 18 swimming events contested while setting eight UAA records and collecting 32 All-UAA finishes.

Cindy Cheng was named the Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year after earning event titles in the 500 Freestyle, 100 Backstroke (55.07 – UAA Record) and 200 Backstroke (1:58.46 – UAA Record) and was part of four winning relay teams, helping set new Association records in all four events.

Maria Turcan was selected as the UAA Rookie of the Year after taking home the event title in the 200 Butterfly and adding All-UAA honors in the 500 Freestyle, placing second. In addition, she finished seventh in the 400 IM.

On the men’s side, Emory extended its reign as the top University Athletic Association program, winnings its 19th consecutive championship with 1650.5 points, the most by an Eagle team at a UAA Championship meet since 2013. Over the four days of competition, the Eagles registered 10 conference titles, set eight association records and posted 16 All-UAA finishes.

Andrew Wilson was named the Association's Swimmer of the Year for the second time in his career. He took home individual event titles in the 200 IM and 100 and 200 Breaststroke, setting UAA records in all three events and added event championships in the 200 and 400 Medley Relays, both in UAA record time, and was an All-UAA finisher in the 400 Freestyle Relay.

Sage Ono became the first Eagle since Wilson to garner UAA Men’s Rookie of the Year acclaim after capturing an event title in the 100 Back, setting a UAA record in the event, and was part of the 200 and 400 Medley Relay title teams. He added a top-five finish in the 200 Back, finishing fourth.

Head Coach Jon Howell and assistant coaches Cindy Fontana, Chris Marshall, John Petroff and Ross Spock were named the UAA Coaching Staff of the Year on both sides. It marked the fourth straight year and ninth time in program history the staff has earned the women’s honor. It was the third time Howell and his staff was bestowed the award on the men's side and the first since 2007.