Emory Athletics Finishes Third In 2015-16 Directors' Cup Standings

Emory Athletics Finishes Third In 2015-16 Directors' Cup Standings

The Emory University Department of Athletics finished third in the 2015-16 Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup Division III standings, as announced by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA).

The third-place finish represents the 15th time in the past 16 years that Emory has recorded a top-10 showing  --  2000-01 (fourth), 2001-02 (fifth), 2002-03 (second), 2003-04 (second), 2004-05 (eighth), 2005-06 (fourth), 2006-07 (ninth), 2007-08 (seventh), 2008-09 (sixth), 2009-10 (18th) , 2010-11 (seventh), 2011-12 (sixth), 2012-13 (second), 2013-14 (sixth) and 2014-15 (eighth).  Emory registered a final total of 969 points, the second-highest mark for the department since the inception of the Cup in 1995-96.  

Emory scored Directors’ Cup points in 15 sports in 2015-16 and captured national championships in women’s swimming and diving and women’s tennis.  Other teams to come away with top-10 finishes in the Directors’ Cup included men’s tennis (3rd), men’s swimming and diving (3rd), softball (5th), baseball (7th), men’s basketball (9th) and volleyball (9th).

Emory athletics also claimed seven University Athletic Association championships this past school year – men’s basketball, women’s swimming and diving, men’s swimming and diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, softball and golf.

Williams College (MA) finished in the No. 1 spot with 1,098 points, its 19th Directors’ Cup title in 21 years.  A total of 322 schools accumulated points in the final Division III standings.

The Directors’ Cup is a program that honors institutions maintaining a broad-based program, achieving success in many sports, both men's and women's.  Began in 1993-94 for Division I by NACDA and USA Today, it was expanded in 1995-96 to include Division II, III and the NAIA and, in 2011-12, expanded to the Junior/Community Colleges.  Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 18 sports -- nine women’s and nine men’s.