• 10 Straight National Championships
  • 12-time National Champions
  • 38 Individual National Champions
  • 29 Relay National Champions
  • 130 Individual All-Americans
  • 27 UAA Championships
  • 25 Postgraduate Scholars

Twenty-Eight Eagles Receive CSCAA Academic Honors

Twenty-Eight Eagles Receive CSCAA Academic Honors

Twenty-eight members of the Emory University Swimming and Diving Team were recognized by the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) for their athletic and academic efforts during the 2013-14 season, including 23 who were named to the organization's Scholar All-America team.

Emory's 23 Scholar All-Americans led all programs in all Divisions (NCAA D-I, II & III, NAIA and NJCAA), as were the 16 Scholar All-America honors awarded to the Emory women's program.

Members of the Emory Women's squad receiving Scholar All-America honors included sophomore Elizabeth Aronoff, junior Megan Beach, freshman Marissa Bergh, sophomore Carolyn Bonfield, senior Sarah Greene, junior Dana Holt, junior Nancy Larson, freshman Claire Liu, senior Kylie McKenzie, senior Sadie Nennig, junior McKenna Newsum-Schoenberg, freshman Marcela Sanchez-Aizcorbe, sophomore Ellie Thompson, senior Brooke Woodward, junior Michelle York and junior Nina Zook.  In addition, senior Carolyn Cohen and junior Lexi Tutor were named Scholar All-America Honorable Mentions.

Claiming the Scholar All-America award from the Emory Men's team were freshman Hayes Burdette-Sapp, freshman Mitchell Cooper, senior Darrell Eacret, sophomore Matt Kuhlik, junior Eric Ruggieri, sophomore Jared Scheuer and sophomore Andrew Wilson, while senior Matt O'Brien, senior Jack Polisini and sophomore Matt Wu were each named Honorable Mentions.

The CSCAA Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a cumulative or term grade point average 3.5 or higher for the academic term coinciding with their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA/CCCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, and have qualified for and competed at the Championship.  Honorable Mentions are awarded to competitors who meet the same academic standards, while also achieving a 'B' time standard, but did not compete in their National Championship.

The Emory Women's Swimming and Diving Team finished the 2013-14 with its fifth-consecutive National Championship, and seventh overall in the program's history.  The Men claimed third at the NCAA Championships, including National Titles in the 200-yard medley and 400-yard medley relays and by Ross Spock in the 100-yard backstroke.