• 2017-18 Record: 17-5
  • 7-time National Champions
  • 5 NCAA Singles Titles
  • 4 NCAA Doubles Titles
  • 39 Individual All-Americans

NCAA CHAMPION!!! Clark Wins D-III Women’s Singles Title

NCAA CHAMPION!!! Clark Wins D-III Women’s Singles Title

Emory University's Gabrielle Clark upset top-seeded Lok-Sze Leung of Middlebury College in the championship match of the 2012 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Singles Championship in Cary, NC, to become the third player in the program's history to claim a singles title.

Clark, seeded third overall in the draw, claimed a straight-set victory over Leung, winning 6-2, 7-6 (1).  After cruising to the early set win, Clark fell behind 5-4 in the second set.  She was able to rally off two straight games, moving to the brink of the title with a 6-5 lead.  However, Leung held serve to even the second set at 6-6, and force a tiebreaker.

Clark wasted no time taking control in the tiebreaker, winning each of the first five points before Leung scored to make it 5-1.  However, Clark would close out the tiebreaker by winning the final two points, and claiming her first national championship.

The singles title was the fourth in the program's history, as Clark joined former Eagles Mary Ellen Gordon (2003 and 2004) and Lorne McManigle (2009) as NCAA singles champions. 

Clark finished her 2012 singles campaign on an 11-match winning streak, ending the year with an overall record of 27-4.

With Emory's Dillon Pottish winning the singles championship on the men's side, it marked just the fourth time in NCAA Division III history that the men's and women's individual champion has come from the same school.  Emory's Michael Goodwin and Lorne McManigle each won titles in 2009, while Principia's Toby Clark and Courtney Allen accomplished the feat in both 1985 and 1987.

Later in the day on Saturday, Clark will compete with Zahra Dawson in the semifinals of the doubles draw, facing Nandita Krishnan and Haley Hogan of Johns Hopkins University.  Should they win, they will face the winner of the other semifinal match between Laura Danzig and Gabby Devlin of Amherst and Kristin Lim and Jessie Huang of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps for the National Championship, also on Saturday.