• 2018-19 Final Record: 20-6; 11-3 UAA
  • 2018-19 Final Ranking: 25th
  • 2017-18 Final Ranking: 12th
  • NCAA Tournament Appearances: 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 1990
  • NCAA Sweet 16: 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014, 1990
  • NCAA Elite Eight: 2014
  • UAA Championships: 2019, 2016, 2015, 2013, 1990, 1989

Jason Zimmerman Named Georgia's Men's Basketball Coach Of The Year By The Atlanta Tipoff Club

Jason Zimmerman Named Georgia's Men's Basketball Coach Of The Year By The Atlanta Tipoff Club

Emory University head men's basketball coach Jason Zimmerman has been recognized by the Atlanta Tipoff Club for the Eagles' outstanding season as the recipient of the organization's  Whack Hyder College Coach of the Year for the state of Georgia. 

Under Zimmerman's direction, Emory advanced to the second round of the NCAA D-III Tournament, the program's second-ever berth in the postseason and first since 1990.  In addition, the Eagles' opening-round 77-56 win over Randolph College was Emory's first postseason triumph since 1990.

Emory finished the year with an overall record of 20-7, tying the second-highest win total in school annals.  It marked the third time in program history that an Emory men's team had captured 20 or more victories, two of which have come during Zimmerman's tenure as head coach.   Emory shared for the University Athletic Association championship with Rochester and Washington University, the first time since 1990 that the program had won the conference title.  The final record of 20-7 represented the program's fourth consecutive winning season, the first time in school history that has happened.  He was recognized by his conference peers and tabbed as the UAA Coach of the Year for the second time.  Zimmerman saw two of his players, Jake Davis and Alex Greven earn 2012-13 First Team All-UAA honors while Michael Friedberg was a second-team honoree.

Zimmerman was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club board of selectors who determine winners based on on-court performances this season.

"I am honored to be chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club to receive this award," Zimmerman said.  "The Tipoff Club over the years has been a great ambassador for the game of basketball and to be recognized by this organization is certainly a humbling experience.

 "As with all individual accolades in our sport, this award represents the culmination of the hard work of many student athletes and staff members at Emory over the past six years."

Awarded since 1984, past winners include Hugh Durham of Georgia, Bobby Cremins of Georgia Tech, Frank Kerns of Georgia Southern, "Lefty" Driesell of Georgia State, Mark Fox of Georgia and Ron Hunter of Georgia State.  Zimmerman is the first Division III men's coach to be tabbed for the award.

John "Whack" Hyder served as the head coach at Georgia Tech for 22 seasons (1951-52 through 1972-73), compiling 292 wins.  His tenure was highlighted by Georgia Tech's first NCAA Tournament appearance in 1960 as well as two trips to the National Invitation Tournament.

Andy Landers of the University of Georgia was picked as the state's Women's College Coach of the Year.  Kentavious Caldwell-Pope of the University of Georgia was selected as the Men's College Player of the Year while Georgia Tech's Tyaunna Marshall was chosen as the Women's Player of the Year.

All honorees will be recognized at the Naismith Awards Banquet presented by AT&T and Newell Rubbermaid on Tuesday, March 19, 2013, in Atlanta.