• 2016-17 National Champions
  • 17 Top-Three National Finishes
  • 30 Individual National Champions
  • 14 Relay National Champions
  • 108 Individual All-Americans
  • 21 UAA Championships
  • 26 Postgraduate Scholars

Emory Swimming & Diving Compete at Royal Open

Emory Swimming & Diving Compete at Royal Open

The Emory University Swimming & Diving teams competed at the Royal Open this past weekend in the final tune up for the NCAA Division III Championships in March. The Eagles posted 14 NCAA B Cuts over the two-day meet hosted by Queens University of Charlotte.

On the women's side, freshman Lara Gemar earned a pair of NCAA B Cuts in the 100 and 200 Breaststrokes, taking first in the 100 at 1:04.20 and third in the 200 at 2:20.31. Senior Kike Afolabi-Brown and sophomore Maria Kyle registered NCAA B Cuts in first place efforts as Afolabi-Brown won the 100 Free in a time of 51.46 and Kyle won the 100 Butterfly with a time of 56.21.

Senior Sia Beasley and freshman Grace Snyder rounded out the Emory women with NCAA B Cuts as the duo recorded NCAA qualifying marks in the 100 Backstroke. Beasley took third in event at 56.35 with Snyder placing fourth at 57.14.

For the Emory men, freshman Kellen Stillman paced the team, turning in two NCAA B Cuts in the 500 and 200 Freestyle. In the 500 Free, Stillman finished second at 4:32.30 and added a fourth place showing in the 200, touching at 1:40.08 and had a prelims time of 1:39.82.

Junior Zachary Chen and freshman Connor Duggan had second place showings for the Eagles with Chen in the 200 Backstroke with a NCAA B Cut of 1:48.69 and Duggan in the 400 IM at 3:59.53, also a NCAA qualifying mark.

Seniors Henry Copses, John Copses and juniors Alex Kohlman, Tyler Curran added NCAA B Cuts for Emory at the meet: Kohlman in the 200 Free (3rd, 1:40.07), J. Copses in the 200 Breast (2nd, 2:03.71) and H. Copses (15:58.06) and Curran (16:00.42) in the 1,650 Freestyle time trials.

For complete results, please click here.

Next up for the Eagles will be the NCAA Diving Regionals on March 2nd and 3rd in San Antonio, Texas.