• 2016-17 National Champions
  • 17 Top-Three National Finishes
  • 30 Individual National Champions
  • 14 Relay National Champions
  • 108 Individual All-Americans
  • 21 UAA Championships
  • 26 Postgraduate Scholars

Men's Swimming & Diving Claim Three Events at Denison Invite - Lorson Breaks 400 IM School Record

The Emory University Men's Swimming and Diving team had another strong output at the Denison Invitational on Friday, compiling three event wins, one school record and 16 NCAA B Cuts on the second day of competition. The Eagles still sit in second place in the team standings heading into the final day with 1,301 points, trailing only first-place Denison (1,944 pts.)

Freshmen Lucas Bumgarner and Zach Lorson notched solo event wins on the evening with Bumgarner taking the 1-meter diving win with a score of 288.55 and Lorson touching first in the 400 IM with a school record time of 3:51.86. Lorson's mark topped the previous record of 3:52.32 held by Keith Diggs set back in 2009 at the Division III Championships.

The Eagles added a win in the final event of the night as seniors Trey Kolleck, Alex Kohlman, junior Connor McCourt and sophomore Kellen Stillman won the 800 Freestyle Relay with a winning time of 6:38.59.

In addition to Lorson, the freshmen shined for Emory in the 400 IM with Sean Byman (7th-3:57.82), Jason Hamilton (10th-3:56.05), Jack Kelleher (12th-3:59.05) and Will O'Daffer (15th-4:00.19) all recording NCAA qualifying times.

Junior Sage Ono and freshman Colin LaFave led the Eagles in the 100 Backstroke with a pair of top-four marks with Ono taking second at 48.92 and LaFave in fourth at 49.10. Senior Matt Rogers added a NCAA B Cut in the event with 10th-place time of 49.79.

Also registering individual NCAA B Cuts for the Eagles on Friday were Stillman (3rd-1:38.93) and Kolleck (10th-1:39.99) in the 200 Freestyle and senior Zachary Chen (4th-56.10) and Hamilton (10th-55.87) in the 100 Breaststroke.

Emory also saw both relay teams record NCAA B Cuts in the 200 Medley with the A squad of Ono, Kolleck and freshmen Hwa Min Sim and Tyler Russell finish third at 1:28.80 and the B group of Rogers, Hamilton, LaFave and Chen take fifth at 1:30.07.

The Denison Invitational concludes Saturday with the 200 Backstroke, 100 Freestyle, 200 Breaststroke 200 Butterfly, 1650 Freestyle, women's 3-meter diving and the 400 Freestyle Relay.