• 27 UAA Championships
  • NCAA National Champions: 2019, 2017, 2012, 2006, 2003
  • 2018-19 Record: 22-2
  • 2018-19 Final Ranking: 1st
  • 2017-18 Final Record: 19-5
  • 39 Individual All-Americans
  • 2018-19 National Rank: 3rd

Emory Men's Tennis Earns ITA Academic Award -- Seven Named Scholar-Athletes

Emory Men's Tennis Earns ITA Academic Award -- Seven Named Scholar-Athletes

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced its 2018 Academic Awards. In all, 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored. The Emory men's squad earned the ITA All-Academic Team award.

Seniors Scott Rubinstein (Madison, CT), and Andrew Harrington (Millersville, MD), juniors James Spaulding (Winnetka, IL) and George Congdon (Darien, CT), sophomores Hasan Kenawi (Katy, TX) and Daniel Shleimovich (Syosset, NY) and freshman Will Wanner (Lancaster, PA) were named ITA Scholar-Athletes.  

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3) been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Emory finished the 2017-18 season with a dual record of 19-5 and advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA D-III Championships.