• 10 Straight National Championships
  • 12-time National Champions
  • 38 Individual National Championships
  • 29 Relay National Championships
  • 134 Individual All-Americans
  • 27 UAA Championships
  • 26 Postgraduate Scholars

Fiona Muir Named the DIII Honda Award Finalist for Swimming & Diving

Fiona Muir Named the DIII Honda Award Finalist for Swimming & Diving

Release by AnnMarie Person, CWSA

Fiona Muir, a senior from women's swimming and diving team, was named the DIII Honda Athlete of the Year finalist for swimming & diving as announced by Executive Director Chris Voelz of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) presented by Honda.

Muir is now designated one of 11 finalists for the prestigious DIII Honda Athlete of the Year. This will be voted on at the end of the academic year by national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of THE CWSA program, now in its 43rd year.

"Being selected as a finalist for the Honda Division III Athlete of the Year, representing swimming is an honor," said Muir. "I am humbled by this nomination. From my recruit trip to my last race this year, I have loved every second of being an Emory Eagle. I am so grateful for this program with amazing coaches and teammates who have made my experience more than I could have ever imagined."

Muir closed out her impeccable career at the 2019 NCAA DIII Championship, helping the Eagles to their 10th consecutive national championship. Muir was an individual national champion in three different events: the 50 Freestyle, 100 Freestyle and 200 Freestyle and added national titles in both the 200 Freestyle Relay and 400 Medley Relay. In addition, Muir earned All-America honors in the 400 Free Relay (2nd) and 800 Free Relay (3rd).

Hailing from Great Falls, Va., she closes out her Emory swimming career as a 17-time national champion and 25-time All-American, marks that place her first and second all-time in program history.

"Fiona represents the very best of Emory Swimming and Diving, and the NCAA student-athlete," stated head coach Jon Howell. "She is a tremendous competitor, a committed scholar, and one the kindest people I have ever coached. She is the complete package, and well deserving of this honor."

All Honda Sports nominees from DIII and DII become a finalist for the prestigious 2019 Honda Athlete of the Year in their respective divisions, presented in a live telecast on CBS Sports on June 24, 2019, in downtown Los Angeles. The Honda Sports nominees are recognized in 11 DIII and DII NCAA-sanctioned sports; cross country, basketball, field hockey, golf, lacrosse, soccer, softball, swimming & diving, tennis, volleyball, and track & field.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation's top NCAA women athletes for 43 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.   Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.1 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women's athletics programs at the institutions.

About Honda

Honda seeks to be a company that society wants to exist, creating products and technologies that improve the lives of people while minimizing the environmental impacts of its products and business operations to ensure a sustainable future.

Honda also is committed to making positive contributions to the communities where it does business, conducting socially responsible business practices and promoting diversity in its workforce. From Honda's involvement in STEM education and Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) to its support of pediatric brain tumor research and volunteer efforts by Honda associates, including environmental clean-up activities, Honda believes in giving back to the communities where its associates live and work.

Learn more at http://csr.honda.com/

Tune into CBS Sports Network on Monday, June 24th at 9 pm ET
to watch the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Show Presented by Honda
and see who takes home the Class of 2019 Honda Cup!