• 7-time NCAA National Champions
  • 5-time ITA National Indoor Champions
  • 6 NCAA Singles Titles
  • 4 NCAA Doubles Titles
  • 39 Individual All-Americans

Nine from Women's Tennis Earn ITA Scholar-Athlete Honors

Nine from Women's Tennis Earn ITA Scholar-Athlete Honors

The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced its All-Academic Awards earlier this month with the Emory University women's tennis team earning All-Academic team and individual recognition.

In addition to earning All-Academic Team kudos, the Eagles saw nine members of the 2018-19 team named as ITA All-Academic Scholar-Athletes: Emma Cartledge, Katie Chang, Jessica Fatemi, Ysabel Gonzalez-Rico, Daniela Lopez, Emma Perelman, Stephanie Taylor, Christina Watson and Lauren Yoon.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2018 and spring 2019).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Emory women's tennis finished the 2018-19 season with an overall record of 20-4 and advanced to the national semifinals.